Sara Kay Carrell

Riding Background:
I have been riding a bike for 34 years. Yep. And I am only 36. The trick is to never stop riding, just like I didn’t ever stop riding a bicycle. Started out at 2 years old on a bike with no training wheels and I have not put a bicycle down since. After starting college, the bike riding expanded into mountain biking, road biking, cyclocross racing, and then recumbents.  Most of the riding was all for fun. Then I tried out my first race in 2003 on a mountain bike. From then on I was hooked on racing!

How did you get into Recumbents?
Several of the riding group members rode recumbents and more and more of them were switching to them. Soon, the idea was floating in my head that I needed one too! In 1999, I purchased my first recumbent, a V-Rex Classic 24’s. After crewing for Team Bacchetta-ALS, a four man Bacchetta recumbent team, in RAAM 2005, I was hooked. I knew I could do that kind of racing and I started right in with my first ultra on my Bacchetta shortly after!

How did you get asked to be a TEAM BACCHETTA team mate?
After two biology degrees and working full time in my field for a year, I gravitated back to Hays after not “fitting in” with the new job. I decided I needed to get back to Hays to finish up my Masters degree. Well, I landed a job at The Hub instead of delving right away into finishing the degree. Managing a bicycle shop only sunk me deeper into the love affair of cycling. I like to be an influential role model for women and to all people looking for motivation to be adventurous and become a healthier person. Working in a bicycle shop and a spot on Team Bacchetta were perfectly fitting!

It was an honor to be the first Lady Killer B for Team Bacchetta! Over the last 6 years of endurance racing, I have gradually built up a nice little racing resume!

What Bacchetta do you ride?